//
you're reading...
Blogroll, Life, SciFi, SciFi Writers

Clarion

I have aspirations to become a writer.

Well, to be fair, I am a writer – now I want to be a published author.

I had a couple of stories I was working on to send to the Clarion writing program. I was going to try to attend this year, considering it’s right down the road.

After some thought, I don’t think I’m going to try to attend this year. There are many reasons for this. Well, a few, anyway.

Reason, the First: We just had a new baby, and my wife has gone back to work. While I am certain we could get a babysitter for the six weeks of the program, I would feel awful, and it would be difficult to concentrate on the program.

Reason, the Second: Clarion costs about $1200 to attend, not to mention the $40 to apply and the selection process. We would not have the money this year for something that could be considered a luxury. I am a part of a couple of writing groups, so I can and will avail myself of that resource. That costs nothing but my time.

Reason, the Third: One of the things the workshop is interested in is your writing habits, and well, mine suck. I need to buckle down and start some. One hour a day, regardless, for now. One new story a month.

Reason, the Fourth: The stories just are not ready. I’ve learned so much writing them, and revising them, but they are just not good enough. Well, maybe they are – this is, after all, an unpublished author short-story intensive program – but I really feel like I can do so much better.

I guess that’s enough reasons for now. I’m not against going this year, I just don’t think I’m ready. I will be next year, though, and I will make sure of it. In the mean time, I have started work on a graphic novel, and I am going  to focus on that as my main project. Of course, I will work on the stories as well, and maybe if I can get published this year, I won’t HAVE to go to Clarion and spend all that money – I can just be successful all on my own – with the loving help of my wife, friends, and family, without whom I could do less than nothing.

About paranoyd

I am a father, an aspiring writer, and avid gamer. I am also into horror and scifi. I'm currently the Adventure league Local Coordinator for my area, and I'm really into the new FFG Star Wars RPG system. And I love a good curry.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Clarion

  1. I am a writer – now I want to be a published author

    That’s actually a really great attitude to have. =)

    Posted by devin | February 11, 2008, 7:51 pm
  2. wow. congrats on the baby. you’ve come a long way, baby

    Posted by matthew | May 14, 2008, 8:13 pm
  3. If you write SciFi/Fantasy, I’ve got a friend who is a literary agent.

    Posted by buddykat | August 21, 2008, 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Older posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 1,345 Intelligent Readers
